FIFPRO unveils Star-studded shortlist: Messi and Ronaldo lead the race for team of the Year

On January 3, 2024, FIFPRO and FIFA revealed the list of 23 nominees contending for a spot in the team of the year for the period from December 19, 2022, to August 20, 2023. This selection, derived from the votes of over 20,000 professional players, prominently features two football giants, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

England stands out as the most represented nation with four nominees, closely followed by Brazil and Portugal, each boasting three contenders.

The Premier League dominates the club representation, with ten players in the running, eight of whom play for Manchester City, the recent Champions League victors.

In contrast, French clubs receive less recognition, with only Kylian Mbappé representing PSG in this prestigious lineup.


  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
  • Ederson (Manchester City, Brazil)
  • Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa, Argentina)


  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool, Netherlands)
  • Éder Militão (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  • Antonio Rüdiger (Real Madrid, Germany)
  • John Stones (Manchester City, England)
  • Kyle Walker (Manchester City, England)


  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/Real Madrid, England)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City/Barcelona, Germany)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
  • Rodri (Manchester City, Spain)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Portugal)
  • Federico Valverde (Real Madrid, Uruguay)


  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/Al-Ittihad, France)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur/Bayern Munich, England)
  • Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain, France)
  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain/Inter Miami, Argentina)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Al-Nassr, Portugal)
  • Vinícius Jr (Real Madrid, Brazil)

The announcement sets the stage for a fiercely contested battle as the football world eagerly awaits the final XI.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *